H.R. No. 312

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Credit unions play an important role in the economic
- 2 vitality of the Lone Star State, and the Government Employees
- 3 Credit Union in El Paso has been a vital community resource for 80
- 4 years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1932, 11 individuals in El Paso created a
- 6 cooperative to ensure their financial security during the depths of
- 7 the Great Depression; pooling their resources, they established the
- 8 Federal Employees Credit Union with a working capital of \$55; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Now known as GECU, the business has grown to become
- 10 one of El Paso's most respected financial institutions, with 11
- 11 branches, approximately 310,000 members, and over \$1.9 billion in
- 12 assets; more than a third of the residents of El Paso County are
- 13 members of GECU; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Over the past eight decades, GECU has grown and
- 15 thrived by remaining true to its founding principle of people
- 16 working together to support each other, and its contribution to the
- 17 prosperity of its community is truly deserving of special
- 18 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commemorate the 80th anniversary of the
- 21 Government Employees Credit Union in El Paso and extend to its
- 22 officers, staff, and members sincere best wishes for continued
- 23 success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 312

- 1 prepared for GECU as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 2 of Representatives.

Marquez

H.R. No. 312

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 312 was	adopted by the House on February
13, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 312

18, 2013, by a non-record vote.