H.R. No. 316

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sherman Chamber of Commerce is marking a
significant milestone in its history with the celebration of its
centennial in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception a century ago, this nonprofit organization composed of businesses, professionals, and other citizens has worked diligently to further the growth and advancement of Sherman; and

8 WHEREAS, The chamber has been a driving force in attracting 9 and retaining commercial enterprises in the area, and it helps 10 promote the community by providing information to visitors and 11 welcoming newcomers; in addition, the group offers resources and 12 educational opportunities for entrepreneurs, communicates with 13 policy makers on the local, county, state, and federal levels, and 14 sponsors leadership development and networking initiatives; and

WHEREAS, The chamber is governed by a board of directors, and operations are guided by the organization's president, Eddie Brown, and its events coordinator, Lauren Roth; throughout the year, the group hosts a number of worthwhile events, including the Texoma Weekly Circle, "Mix & Mingle" gatherings, quarterly business luncheons, the Sherman Independent School District New Teacher Lunch, and the Annual Vegas Nights Fall Fundraiser; and

22 WHEREAS, Dedicated to fostering economic growth and civic 23 unity, the Sherman Chamber of Commerce is strengthening its 24 community in myriad ways, and this dynamic organization is indeed

1

H.R. No. 316 1 deserving of commendation for its vision, leadership, and 2 commitment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby honor the Sherman Chamber of Commerce on the 100th anniversary of its founding and commend all those associated with the group for their dedicated service to their fellow citizens; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Phillips

2

H.R. No. 316

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 316

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 316 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House