RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On the morning of February 1, 2003, the NASA space 2 shuttle *Columbia* broke apart in the skies over Texas, taking the 3 lives of its entire crew; the 10th anniversary of that tragedy 4 provides a fitting occasion to pay tribute to those seven 5 astronauts and to reflect on their heroism and sacrifice; and

6 WHEREAS, Hailing from across the nation and around the world, the crew of the STS-107 mission exemplified the highest ideals of 7 the astronaut corps; crew commander Rick D. Husband was a native of 8 Amarillo and a U.S. Air Force colonel with more than 3,800 hours of 9 flight time in over 40 different types of aircraft; he had 10 previously served as pilot on the STS-96 Discovery mission, when 11 12 the first docking with the International Space Station was accomplished; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Pilot William McCool was a graduate of Coronado High School in Lubbock and the son of a Marine and naval aviator; he 15 16 followed in his father's footsteps by becoming a pilot in the U.S. Navy; payload commander Michael P. Anderson, a lieutenant colonel 17 in the U.S. Air Force, had flown on the space shuttle Endeavour with 18 the STS-89 mission; born in Karnal, India, mission specialist 19 20 Kalpana Chawla held a doctorate in aerospace engineering and had 21 earlier served aboard Columbia on the STS-87 mission; and

WHEREAS, Mission specialist David M. Brown was a captain in the U.S. Navy, a physician, and a fighter pilot; U.S. Navy captain Laurel B. Clark was a mission specialist with previous experience

1

1 as a submarine medical officer and as a flight surgeon; payload 2 specialist Ilan Ramon was a colonel in the Israeli Air Force, where 3 he had excelled in his duties as a fighter pilot and squadron 4 commander; and

5 WHEREAS, This team of extraordinarily gifted men and women made invaluable contributions to science, engineering, and the 6 history of spaceflight while furthering the tradition 7 of 8 international cooperation that was a hallmark of the shuttle program; through their courageous endeavors, they earned a place 9 among the great explorers of history, individuals who sought, in 10 the words of the poet Alfred Tennyson, "to strive, to seek, to find, 11 12 and not to yield"; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 14 Legislature hereby commemorate the 10th anniversary of the STS-107 15 Columbia mission and pay tribute to the memory of its valiant crew.

> Price Perry Frullo

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 317 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House