H.R. No. 322

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The talented members of the McKinney High School 2 robotics team, known as the Lion Kings, distinguished themselves by 3 earning the Rookie All-Star Award at the FIRST Robotics Regional 4 Competition held at the Dallas Convention Center on March 30 and 31, 5 2012; and

1989, WHEREAS, Established 6 in FIRST is а nonprofit 7 organization that stages robotics competitions with the goal of engaging young people's interest in science and technology; each 8 9 team begins with a standard kit of parts and has six weeks to design and build a robot capable of solving a problem created by the 10 11 contest organizers; students competing in FIRST are eligible to 12 apply for more than \$14 million in scholarship funds from leading universities and companies; and 13

14 WHEREAS, This year's FIRST competition required a robot that 15 could throw balls into multiple goals; in accomplishing this task, 16 the Lion Kings earned the Rookie All-Star Award, which is given each 17 year to a rookie team that displays a young but strong partnership 18 effort; and

WHEREAS, Through their participation in this exciting and challenging program, the McKinney High School Lion Kings enhanced their knowledge of science and technology while learning important lessons about teamwork, and they may indeed take great pride in their impressive showing at the FIRST competition; now, therefore, be it

1

## H.R. No. 322

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the McKinney High School robotics 3 team on its receipt of the Rookie All-Star Award at the 2012 FIRST 4 Robotics Regional Competition in Dallas and extend to the team's 5 members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

## Sanford

H.R. No. 322

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 322 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House