RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The interstate highway system in the Lone Star State 2 is essential to the safe and efficient movement of freight and 3 passenger vehicles and to the competitive advantage of the state in 4 the global economy; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1991, the U.S. Congress has passed a series of bills designating U.S. Highways 59, 77, and 281 in Texas as part of 6 7 Interstate 69; in furtherance of that goal, the Texas Transportation Commission is committed to upgrading existing 8 highways to interstate standard wherever possible in order to 9 minimize the need for additional land; and 10

11 WHEREAS, More than 100 local officials and individuals from 12 the private sector have served on the transportation commission's 13 I-69 Advisory Committee as well as on five segment committees, 14 identifying individual projects needed to upgrade these designated 15 highways; for more than two years, these committees solicited input 16 from thousands of citizens in communities along the route and have 17 received more than 500 comments from the public; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Department of Transportation has recently funded interstate upgrade projects for a total of over \$637 million along the route of I-69 and, with authorization from the Federal Highway Administration, has added more than 40 miles to I-69 in Texas; meanwhile, the FHWA is evaluating additional miles of the route to be officially designated as part of the interstate system in 2013; and

1

1 WHEREAS, The expansion of I-69 will play a tremendously 2 important part in the continuing growth of the Texas economy for 3 many years to come, and the efforts in support of this project by 4 the Texas Transportation Commission, the Texas Department of 5 Transportation, the Alliance for I-69 Texas, and numerous elected 6 officials and private citizens are indeed worthy of special 7 recognition; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2013, as I-69 Day at the 10 State Capitol and extend to all parties concerned sincere 11 appreciation for their work.

Otto

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 325 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House