H.R. No. 337

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Students from The University of Texas Medical Branch

1

23

24

2 at Galveston are visiting the State Capitol on February 5, 2013, and this occasion offers a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to their 3 university's vital role in meeting the health care needs of 4 5 countless Texans; and 6 WHEREAS, Established in 1891 as The University of Texas 7 Medical Department, UTMB was the first academic health center to be created in Texas and is among the oldest in the nation; its 84-acre 8 9 campus features four schools, three institutes for advanced study, a comprehensive medical library, and numerous research facilities, 10 11 along with a network of hospitals and clinics that provide a full 12 range of primary and specialized medical care; and WHEREAS, Among UTMB's many superb components is 13 14 Dr. Truman Blocker Burns Treatment Center, which, along with the Shriners' Hospitals for Children-Galveston, 15 affiliated 16 internationally recognized for its surgical training program and for the quality of care for burn victims; other major health care 17 resources include the Texas Transplant Center, part of UTMB's 18 renowned Department of Surgery, and the Level 1 Trauma Center, one 19 of three such facilities in Southeast Texas and a leader in overall 20 21 survival and recovery rates; moreover, furthering the university's research mission is the Galveston National Laboratory, the only 22

BioSafety Level IV national laboratory in Texas and one of just two

in the United States dedicated to the safe study of infectious

1 diseases; and

19

WHEREAS, Enrollment at UTMB is at an all-time high, with more 2 3 than 3,000 students registered for the 2012-2013 school year, 600 more than in 2008; UTMB continues to offer students an outstanding 4 5 education, boasting board exam scores and passing rates that exceed the national average; moreover, the National Institutes of Health 6 ranked three School of Medicine departments in the top 10 among 7 8 grant recipients in their disciplines, and the School of Health Professions was ranked ninth among its peers nationally; and 9 WHEREAS, This notable institution is likewise acclaimed for 10 its innovative curriculum, which helps to prepare students for 11 12 real-world challenges by training them to work as members of inter-professional health care teams in learning scenarios that 13 14 mirror what they are likely to encounter in practice; UTMB has also

15 contributed significantly to the diversity of the medical profession over the past decade, graduating more Hispanic 16 17 physicians than any other medical school in the country and ranking among the top 10 in graduating African American physicians; and 18

of Texas Medical Branch have made important advances in the field of 20 medicine while benefiting untold numbers of individuals in the 21 Galveston area and beyond, and their many worthwhile endeavors are 22 indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it 23

WHEREAS, The faculty, staff, and students at The University

H.R. No. 337

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby welcome the delegation from The University of
- 3 Texas Medical Branch at Galveston and extend to them sincere best
- 4 wishes for an enjoyable visit to Austin.

Eiland Bonnen of Galveston

H.R. No. 337

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 33/
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 337 was	adopted by the House on February
5, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House