H.R. No. 339

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Rowlett are gathering in Austin
- 2 on February 12, 2013, to celebrate Rowlett Day at the State Capitol;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, The area around present-day Rowlett was first
- 5 settled in the 1840s by two immigration companies, the W. S. Peters
- 6 Colony and the Charles Mercer Colony; a post office was set up in
- 7 1880 and named Morris, after its first postmaster, but the name was
- 8 later changed to Rowlett, after Rowlett Creek, a tributary of the
- 9 east fork of the Trinity River; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The arrival of the Dallas and Greenville Railway in
- 11 1889 helped the town grow into a prosperous cotton farming
- 12 community with a school, churches, and businesses, and in 1921, it
- 13 was included on the route of the Bankhead Highway, the nation's
- 14 second cross-country paved highway; the city was incorporated in
- 15 1952 by a vote of 84 citizens; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Since the completion of the Lake Ray Hubbard
- 17 reservoir in 1971, Rowlett has grown into a thriving community of
- 18 56,000 residents who enjoy lakeside living along 30 miles of
- 19 beautiful shoreline; its citizens also enjoy easy access to Dallas
- 20 by way of the President George Bush Turnpike and the Dallas Area
- 21 Rapid Transit light rail system; it was named as a Tree City USA for
- 22 10 years in a row, and its economic development efforts have won
- 23 recognition from the Texas Economic Development Council and the
- 24 Dallas Business Journal; and

H.R. No. 339

1 WHEREAS, In addition to the many opportunities for recreation 2 afforded by Lake Ray Hubbard, residents of Rowlett also enjoy the 3 championship Waterview Golf Club and the Wet Zone Waterpark; the town's popular annual events include an Easter egg hunt, fireworks 4 5 on the Fourth of July, the Movies on Main series, and a holiday parade and tree lighting ceremony every Christmas; and 6 7 WHEREAS, Benefiting from all the amenities of the Dallas-Fort 8 Worth metroplex while preserving a hometown ambiance, the citizens of Rowlett may take justifiable pride in their efforts to make their 9 10 town such an attractive and comfortable community in which to live, work, and raise a family; now, therefore, be it 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 12 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2013, as Rowlett Day at 13 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 14

best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin.

15

Button Burkett Turner of Collin

## H.R. No. 339

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 339
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 339 was	adopted by the House on February
12, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House