RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Bertha Hilburn is being honored by the congregation
of St. Luke "Community" United Methodist Church of Dallas on
February 17, 2013, as a Senior Saint of Wisdom; and

WHEREAS, A faithful member of the church, Mrs. Hilburn is also a longtime resident of Dallas; she served as a nurse's aide at Parkland Hospital in 1941 before assembling airplane parts during World War II; following the conclusion of the war, she returned to Parkland as a nurse, and, hoping to help single mothers find work, she opened the city's first licensed nursery for African Americans; and

WHEREAS, In the late 1940s, Mrs. Hilburn and her husband moved to South Dallas and purchased an apartment building that had originally served as a small hospital specializing in care for unwed mothers; Mrs. Hilburn operated the building as a residential hotel for African Americans, one of the first in the city, and raised her family there; and

WHEREAS, Along the way, Bertha Hilburn worked as a physical therapy assistant with the Dallas public schools, and later on she was employed by the Dallas Easter Seal Society; recently, her daughter Vanessa Baker took steps to have the building owned by her mother designated as a local historic landmark; and

WHEREAS, This beloved Texan has touched the hearts of many throughout her life, and it is a pleasure to join in wishing her well and honoring her for her long record of service to others; now,

1

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Bertha Hilburn on her selection as 4 a Senior Saint of Wisdom by St. Luke "Community" United Methodist 5 Church of Dallas and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued 6 happiness; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for Mrs. Hilburn as an expression of high regard by the 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Giddings

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 347 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House