RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, St. Patrick's Day is celebrated on March 2 17, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to honor the 3 origins of the event and to highlight the many contributions that 4 individuals of Irish descent have made to the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Born into a wealthy Romano-British family in the 4th century, St. Patrick was kidnapped at the age of 16 by Irish raiders 6 7 and taken captive to the Emerald Isle; according to his writings, divine intervention allowed him to escape, and he entered the 8 9 priesthood soon after; he later returned to Ireland and spent nearly 30 years teaching the island's residents about his faith, 10 11 thereby becoming the principal champion of Irish Christianity in 12 legend and folklore; St. Patrick's Day, which commemorates the day of his death in 461, has become a celebration of Irish heritage 13 14 around the world, and in recent decades the government of Ireland has made the observance a centerpiece of its efforts to showcase the 15 16 country and its culture; and

WHEREAS, One of the earliest Irish residents of Texas was Hugh O'Connor, who served as governor of the Spanish territory from 1767 to 1770; natives of Ireland also played a central role in the settlement of Texas in the early 1800s, including empresarios James McGloin, John McMullen, and James Power, who brought dozens of Irish families to South Texas and the Gulf Coast; and

23 WHEREAS, All three of these men participated in the Texas 24 Revolution, as did Irishmen such as John Joseph Linn, Francis

1

Moore, Jr., and Thomas William Ward; a dozen individuals from the Emerald Isle died defending the Alamo, and 100 Irish-born troops helped win the independence of Texas in the decisive Battle of San Jacinto; and

5 WHEREAS, The number of immigrants from Ireland grew dramatically in the mid-1800s, and several prominent Irish natives 6 made their mark during that period; Samuel McKinney was an early 7 8 president of Austin College, Father Michael Sheehan established the first Catholic church in Austin and became one of the first 9 10 full-time Catholic chaplains in the U.S. Army, and Peter Gallagher served as a Texas Ranger and helped organize Pecos County; later in 11 the 19th century, Irishman John William Mallet served as the first 12 faculty chair at The University of Texas at Austin, and artist Henry 13 14 Arthur McArdle produced many famous paintings inspired by Texas 15 history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, With the passing decades, additional people from 16 17 Ireland found a new home in Texas, and they and the descendents of previous immigrants have had an enduring influence on the state's 18 lifestyle and development; today, Irish culture is celebrated in 19 formal programs such as the Center for Irish Studies at the 20 University of St. Thomas in Houston, as well as in statewide 21 St. Patrick's Day celebrations, and it is appropriate to join in 22 recognizing the significant role that Irish Americans have played 23 24 in the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

2

H.R. No. 356 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the state's vital Irish heritage and extend Happy St. Patrick's Day wishes to all Irish Americans. Murphy Fallon

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 356 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House