RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize February 12 and 13, 2013, as El Paso Days at the State 3 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in the westernmost tip of the great state of Texas, the city of El Paso combines a modern metropolis with the charm born of its Spanish origins; the area was named El Paso by the Spanish conquistador Don Juan de Onate because of the shallow place in the river where the colonists crossed en route to Santa Fe, New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, The arrival of the railroads in 1881 ushered in an era of prosperity, and El Paso became a flourishing frontier community that has developed into a significant industrial, commercial, and transportation city; and

14 WHEREAS, Today, semitrailers, trains, and planes transport 15 manufactured goods through the border cities at the Pass, just as 16 Spanish traders did in the 16th century when they guided ox-drawn 17 carts along the Camino Real from Mexico City to Santa Fe; and

WHEREAS, With a population of more than 665,000, El Paso is the state's sixth-largest city and the 19th-largest city in the United States; it lies on the Rio Grande north of Ciudad Juarez, Mexico's fifth-largest city, with a population of over a million; and

WHEREAS, Nearby Fort Bliss, which celebrates its 165th anniversary this year, has just completed the biggest transformation in its history, with a 300 percent increase in its population since 2005 and an investment of \$5 billion in

1

1 construction for new, top-of-the-line facilities for incoming 2 personnel and their families, including a new billion-dollar 3 military hospital; at the forefront of the U.S. Army's 4 Transformation plan, the post has transitioned from a TRADOC to a 5 FORSCOM installation; and

6 WHEREAS, Dedicated to making their city an even better place 7 to live and work, El Paso citizens voted in favor of three "quality 8 of life" bond propositions in 2012, approving \$473,250,000 for 9 projects by one of the largest voting margins for such proposals in 10 any city in the nation; and

11 WHEREAS, El Paso is a vibrant, bilingual community; its 12 residents enjoy a thriving fine arts community, exemplary 13 educational institutions, and many cultural and historical 14 resources and museums; and

15 WHEREAS, El Paso Days at the State Capitol provide an 16 opportunity to honor El Paso and its rich heritage, which today is 17 enjoyed by residents and vacationers of all ages; now, therefore, 18 be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 12 and 13, 2013, as El Paso 21 Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 22 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit to Austin.

> Pickett Marquez N. Gonzalez of El Paso Moody M. Gonzalez of El Paso

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 369 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House