RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Family and friends will long cherish their memories
of LeRoy Reed of Odessa, who passed away on January 11, 2013, at the
age of 86; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Reed was born in Temple on July 1, 1926, to Grant and Helena Reed; in 1940, he and his family moved to San Angelo, where he continued his education at Blackshear High School; and

7 WHEREAS, LeRoy Reed was not yet 20 when he married the love of 8 his life, the former Eldora Harris; the couple became the proud 9 parents of a son, Marvin, and shared a rewarding marriage of 64 10 years before Mrs. Reed's death in 2009; and

11 WHEREAS, After working as a chef at the Elliott Hotel in 12 Odessa, Mr. Reed moved with his wife to Kermit, where, at the age of 21, the pair opened Everybody's Cafe; they subsequently returned to 13 14 Odessa, and Mr. Reed worked for a time as an executive chef; in 1958, he and his wife launched another restaurant, LeRoy's Pit 15 Bar-B-Q, which they ran until 1973; their son then took over the 16 business and Mr. and Mrs. Reed established LeRoy's Restaurant 17 Supply; they operated the latter enterprise for two decades, until 18 selling the concern to their son and grandson in 1994; Mr. Reed also 19 invested in rental property and found success as an insurance and 20 21 real estate salesman; and

WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the welfare of his community, LeRoy Reed gave generously of his time and talents to a host of endeavors; he chaired the original City of Odessa

1

Convention and Visitors Bureau and held a seat on the original 1 Enterprise Zone Committee; in addition, he was a founding member 2 3 and officer of the Southeast Civic League, Permian Basin Black Chamber of Commerce, Blackshear High School Steer Booster Club, 4 5 Ector Lions Club, Gertrude Bruce Historical Cultural Center, Woodson Boys Club, and Regular Fellows Club; a devoted congregant 6 of the Texas and Clements Street Church of Christ, he was also 7 8 affiliated with the Mexican American Network of Odessa, the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats, the Ector High School Football 9 10 Booster Club, and the NAACP; moreover, he benefited Texans across the state through his service as a director of the Lions Eye Bank 11 12 and the Lions Camp for Crippled Children; and

WHEREAS, Among the many accolades bestowed on this esteemed Texan were the 2006 R. C. Hoiles Award from the Odessa American newspaper and the service award from the Gertrude Bruce Historical Cultural Center, as well as selection to the Business Hall of Fame by the Permian Basin Black Chamber of Commerce and designation as Citizen of the Year by Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity; and

WHEREAS, Treasured for his cheerful, joyous nature, Mr. Reed took pleasure in countless friendships and delighted in his large extended family; the annual family reunion was an event that he looked forward to with great anticipation; and

23 WHEREAS, LeRoy Reed achieved a life that was rich in service, 24 accomplishments, and close ties of affection, and those who were 25 privileged to share in his love and friendship will forever hold him 26 close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

27

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

2

1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of LeRoy Reed and 2 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his son, 3 Marvin; to his grandson, Anthony, and his wife, Jerri; to his 4 great-grandchildren, Caroline Rose and Rohan Anthony; to his 5 siblings, Jimmie, Grant, and Charles Reed, Ruby Peyton, Alice 6 Johns, and Gloria DeWitt; and to his many other relatives and 7 friends; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 10 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of LeRoy Reed. Lewis

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 372 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 13, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House