H.R. No. 380

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music at The 2 University of Texas at Austin is sponsoring its first summer music 3 camp focusing on mariachi music and culture in 2013; and

4 WHEREAS, Created in 1914, the Butler School of Music has 5 received national recognition for its outstanding programs in a wide range of study, including chamber music, jazz, composition, 6 7 conducting, and vocal arts, as well as for its prestigious centers of excellence focusing on music education, opera, American music, 8 and sacred music; the school, which is celebrating its 100th 9 anniversary in the fall of 2013, was renamed in 2008 for Sarah and 10 11 Ernest Butler, whose \$55 million bequest was at the time the largest 12 single gift ever made to a school of music at a public university; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, Of special interest to many Texans are the music school's mariachi ensemble, which was established in 1977, and 15 conjunto ensemble, which was created in 2006; the school's 16 inaugural mariachi music camp has been funded through the generous 17 18 efforts of Renato Ramirez of Zapata, and the program is welcoming students from across the state for intensive instruction on 19 composing, arranging, and performing; the four-day camp concludes 20 21 with a final performance in the Bates Recital Hall on the UT campus; 22 and

23 WHEREAS, Individuals eager to study mariachi, conjunto, and 24 other musical genres are greatly benefiting from the many

1

opportunities provided by the Butler School of Music, and the 1 school's faculty, staff, and benefactors are truly deserving of 2 praise on the occasion of this milestone year; now, therefore, be it 3 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the first University of Texas Butler 5 6 School of Music mariachi summer music camp and extend to all those associated with this exciting program sincere best wishes for 7 8 success.

> Raymond Naishtat

H.R. No. 380

H.R. No. 380

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 380

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 380 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House