RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, With the passing of Joe Clifton Moseley II of

Rockport on November 25, 2012, the State of Texas lost an admired

3 and knowledgeable authority on coastal, environmental, and

4 transportation issues; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of Fort Worth, Joe Moseley was born on

6 October 21, 1944, and grew up in Joshua; he graduated with a

7 bachelor's degree in civil engineering from Texas A&M University

8 and went on to earn a master's degree in environmental health and a

9 doctorate in civil engineering from The University of Texas at

10 Austin, and his dissertation was honored as the best produced at UT

11 in 1973; and

2

12 WHEREAS, Dr. Moseley began his career as a water systems

13 engineer with the Texas Water Development Board, and he joined the

14 governor's staff for natural resource programs in 1970; two years

15 later, he was appointed executive director of the Texas Coastal and

16 Marine Council and subsequently held the post of deputy general

17 manager of the Texas Deepwater Port Authority; during his time in

18 these positions, he managed dozens of special studies for the

19 governor's office and the Texas Legislature on subjects such as

20 fisheries, marine transportation, disaster planning, and tourism,

21 and he oversaw the development of a comprehensive coastal resource

22 management plan; moreover, he often traveled to Washington, D.C.,

23 where he was a member of several national advisory committees on

24 offshore petroleum and coastal management; and

- 1 WHEREAS, In 1980, Dr. Moseley left the public sector to work manager of business development and vice president 2 as engineering for the Goldstone Corporation, and five years later, he 3 cofounded Shiner Moseley and Associates, Inc., in Corpus Christi; 4 he was a principal partner in the firm until 2005, when it was 5 acquired by HDR Engineering, and he continued to serve as a 6 consultant for the company until his retirement from the business 7
- 9 WHEREAS, Highly respected by his peers, Dr. Moseley was 10 selected as the 2007 recipient of the Morrough P. O'Brien Award from the American Shore and Beach Preservation Association for his 11 12 lifetime achievements in conservation and environmental 13 stewardship; his expertise was further recognized with his 14 gubernatorial appointment to the inaugural management committee of 15 the Corpus Christi Bay National Estuary Program; and

8

in 2009; and

- 16 WHEREAS, Dr. Moseley played a prominent role in various 17 business, civic, and educational organizations as well; his accomplishments include serving as director of the Texas Chamber of 18 Commerce and as chair of the board of managers of Memorial Medical 19 Center, and he also taught as an adjunct professor at Texas A&M 20 University--Corpus Christi for nearly two decades; in his free 21 time, he enjoyed hunting, fishing, boating, spending time with his 22 23 family, and traveling with his wife, Karen; and
- 24 WHEREAS, With his broad range of expertise, Joe Moseley made 25 a positive difference in numerous fields of endeavor, and his 26 achievements will continue to resonate in the Lone Star State and 27 beyond for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Joe Clifton Moseley II

and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his

wife, Karen Hall Moseley; to his sons, Lary and Chris Moseley; to

his stepson, Jim Hall, and his wife, Hannah; to his grandchildren,

Jonathan, Kailee, and Mila Hall; and to his other relatives and

friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joe Clifton

10

11

Moseley II.

Hunter

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 390 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 28, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House