H.R. No. 394

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Joe G. Hanover of Bryan-College Station
- 2 commemorated his 95th birthday on February 10, 2013, and this
- 3 significant event provides a fitting opportunity to honor him for
- 4 his dedicated service to the community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Joe Hanover earned his bachelor's degree in civil
- 6 engineering from Texas A&M University in 1940 and joined the Texas
- 7 Department of Transportation that same year; answering his
- 8 country's call to duty, he served as a second lieutenant in the
- 9 United States Army's 54th Coast Artillery Unit during World War II;
- 10 he returned home following the war but continued his service in the
- 11 U.S. Army Reserve; he was eventually promoted to the post of
- 12 commander of the 420th Engineer Brigade and later brigadier
- 13 general; and
- 14 WHEREAS, At TxDOT, Mr. Hanover was promoted to resident
- 15 engineer in Hearne and designed most of the farm-to-market roads in
- 16 Milam and Robertson Counties; by 1966, he had advanced to district
- 17 engineer of the Bryan region and made such important contributions
- 18 to the area's infrastructure as the development of Interstate 45 in
- 19 Freestone, Leon, Madison, and Walker Counties and the creation of
- 20 highway loops around the cities of Bryan-College Station,
- 21 Huntsville, and Brenham; and
- WHEREAS, Joe Hanover is a source of inspiration to all who
- 23 know him, and it is a pleasure to recognize this esteemed Texan and
- 24 his many contributions to his community; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 394

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Joe G. Hanover on his 95th birthday and
- 3 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be
- 4 it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Hanover as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Raney

H.R. No. 394

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 394 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House