H.R. No. 396

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Minority Business Enterprise Institute for
- 2 Public Policy is sponsoring Minority Business Enterprise Public
- 3 Policy Day at the State Capitol on February 13, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Among those participating in this event is the
- 5 Houston Minority Supplier Development Council, a nonprofit
- 6 organization founded in 1973 to assist both minority business
- 7 owners and major corporations seeking to establish relationships
- 8 with minority entrepreneurs; the Houston council is one of 39
- 9 regional affiliates of the National Minority Supplier Development
- 10 Council; more than 220 corporations and 1,000 minority businesses
- 11 belong to the Houston organization, whose services include
- 12 providing minority business certification; and
- WHEREAS, Another group taking part in the day's activities is
- 14 the Women Contractors Association, which works to promote
- 15 professional and personal growth for women in contracting; the WCA
- 16 is composed of women owners and decision-making executives in the
- 17 construction industry and provides valued networking opportunities
- 18 to its members; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Minority business enterprises contribute greatly to
- 20 the cultural and economic vitality of this state, and their efforts
- 21 are indeed to be encouraged and commended; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 13, 2013, as Minority
- 24 Business Enterprise Public Policy Day at the State Capitol and

H.R. No. 396

- 1 extend to all those in attendance sincere best wishes for an
- 2 enjoyable and informative event.

Farrar

## H.R. No. 396

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miler of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White
Frank	Moody	Walle
Geren Giddings	Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Workman Wu
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 396
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 396 was 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House