H.R. No. 397

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Katy High School head football coach Gary Joseph has
been named the 2012 National Coach of the Year by American Football
Monthly; and

WHEREAS, Coach Joseph was selected for this prestigious honor following a remarkable 2012 season in which he guided the Katy Tigers to a perfect 16-0 record and the University Interscholastic League 5A Division 2 state championship; the team's dominant performance resulted in Katy being chosen as the national champion by the National Sports News Service and *VYPE Magazine*; and

WHEREAS, The second of three generations of Texas high school football coaches in his family, Gary Joseph has devoted 31 years to mentoring Tiger players, and he has held the top job at the school since 2004; over the course of his outstanding tenure, his squads have won three state titles and advanced to the championship game on two other occasions while compiling a stellar record of 120 victories to just 11 defeats; and

WHEREAS, Gary Joseph has accrued numerous coach of the year honors during his career, including eight District 19-5A awards, three accolades from the Houston Texans, the 2005 Houston Touchdown Club commendation, and the 2008 Southwest regional award from ESPN RISE; and

WHEREAS, Coach Joseph has served as a positive role model to hundreds of student-athletes and contributed greatly to the illustrious reputation of Katy High School athletics, and this

1

H.R. No. 397

latest accomplishment confirms his status as one of the finest high
school football coaches in the nation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Gary Joseph on his selection as the 2012 National Coach of the Year by American Football Monthly and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Coach Joseph as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

> Callegari Zerwas Bell Murphy

2

H.R. No. 397

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 397

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 397 was adopted by the House on March 26, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House