## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of San Angelo lost an esteemed physician
- 2 and civic leader with the passing of Dr. Ralph Raymond Chase on
- 3 March 16, 2012, at the age of 89; and
- WHEREAS, Born in San Angelo on January 3, 1923, Dr. Chase was
- 5 the son of Ralph Raymond Chase, Sr., and Hildur Sandberg Chase; he
- 6 graduated from San Angelo High School and Junior College before
- 7 earning a bachelor's degree in biology at The University of Texas at
- 8 Austin in 1943; and
- 9 WHEREAS, During World War II, he answered his nation's call
- 10 to duty, enlisting in the U.S. Navy and serving in the Admiralty
- 11 Islands; following his military service, he earned his medical
- 12 degree at Northwestern University and served his residency in
- 13 Chicago, where he met his future wife, Virginia Louise Berg; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Dr. Chase began practicing pediatric medicine at
- 15 Angelo Community Hospital; in the early 1950s, he was instrumental
- 16 in carrying out a mass polio immunization program and later
- 17 coordinated another intensive inoculation effort against
- 18 diphtheria, tetanus, measles, rubella, and smallpox; with
- 19 characteristic concern that everyone have access to medical care,
- 20 he was one of the first to promote the use of physician's assistants
- 21 in underserved rural areas; named the Texas Pediatrician of the
- 22 Year in 1978, he also received the American Academy of Pediatrics
- 23 Citation; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to his community, Dr. Chase was a

- 1 member of the Tom Green County Historical Society and played a major
- 2 part in the development of a medical museum at the Fort Concho site;
- 3 in the 1970s, he helped launch the Roy E. Moon Distinguished
- 4 Lectureship in Science series and the Angelo Community Hospital
- 5 Lectureship in the Humanities series, later renamed the Chase
- 6 Lectureship in the Humanities, at Angelo State University; thanks
- 7 to his efforts, 11 Nobel Prize winners and numerous other scholars
- 8 have shared their ideas with the citizens of San Angelo; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Over the years, Dr. Chase received many honors,
- 10 including the Service to Society Award from the Northwestern
- 11 University Alumni Association and a distinguished alumnus award
- 12 from Angelo State University; in 1988, the San Angelo Chamber of
- 13 Commerce named him the Citizen of the Year, and he was recognized by
- 14 the mayor and city council with Ralph Chase Day in 1991; and
- WHEREAS, Known to generations of patients as "Uncle Ralphie,"
- 16 this beloved physician worked throughout his life to improve the
- 17 health and well-being of his fellow Texans, and he contributed to
- 18 his community through nearly six decades of engaged citizenship;
- 19 now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Dr. Ralph Raymond
- 22 Chase and extend sincere condolences to the members of his family:
- 23 to his wife of 60 years, Virginia Chase; to his children, Priscilla
- 24 Griffis and her husband, Don, Julia Kinkel and her husband, Carl,
- 25 Sallie Helms and her husband, Bill, and John Chase; to his
- 26 grandchildren, William Griffis and his wife, Leslie, James Griffis
- 27 and his wife, Lindsay, Abigail Cox and her husband, Jason, John

- 1 Griffis, and Travis and Chase Helms; to his great-grandchildren,
- 2 Sarah Cox and Chase Griffis; and to his other relatives and many
- 3 friends; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in honor of Dr. Ralph
- 7 Chase.

Darby

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White
Frank	Moody	Vo Walle
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 398
- -	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 398 was u	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on February 28, 2013.	

Chief Clerk of the House