RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The El Campo High School football team enjoyed an 2 outstanding 2012 season, advancing all the way to the University 3 Interscholastic League 3A Division 1 state championship game on 4 December 14 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, In reaching the title contest for the first time 6 since 1967, the Ricebirds finished the year with an impressive 7 record of 14 wins and just 1 loss; and

8 WHEREAS, El Campo claimed the District 25-3A championship 9 after its undefeated run through the regular season schedule; in 10 the playoffs, the team bested La Grange, Somerset, Ingleside, and 11 Carthage High Schools to reach the state final, where the season 12 ended in a hard-fought loss to Stephenville High School; and

13 WHEREAS, Several El Campo players were recognized with 14 individual accolades for their notable performances in 2012; Cole Hunt was named the Associated Press 3A Defensive Player of the Year 15 16 and was joined on the All-State first team by Brett Prihoda and Trey Martin; at the district level, Mr. Hunt was honored with an Overall 17 Most Valuable Player award, while Mr. Prihoda and Bryce Brandl were 18 chosen as Defensive and Offensive MVPs, respectively; in addition, 19 13 other members of the squad earned first- or second-team 20 21 All-District honors; and

WHEREAS, The Ricebirds also received essential contributions from the other members of the roster: Jack Davis, Koy Kresta, Michael Wall, Kory Supak, D. J. Washington, Colton Parson, Tyler

1

Pittman, Kade Ilse, Stephen Gaines, Clayton Harp, Andrew Saucedo, 1 Seth Pustejovsky, Hunter Winkleman, Jarrin Henderson, Wayne 2 3 Hargrove, Tamall Terrell, Kyle Kerzee, Jeremy Supak, Montray Johnson, Blaine Fuechec, B. J. Flagg, Clay Gonzales, Abraham 4 Montes, Antonio Cooper, Kevin Dove, Cody Jones, Travis Woods, 5 Chance Nohavitza, Clint Kruppa, Victor Hernandez, Juan Reyna, 6 Charles Powers, Chris Nielsen, DeShawn 7 King, Clay Glaze, 8 A. J. Martinez, Alex Montes, Zeke Tsika, Tobias Thornton, James Espericueta, James Kyle, Ryan Nielsen, Marshall Mach, Brent Hayes, 9 10 Reid Strnadel, Jacob Harton, Terrence Brown, Antonio Perez, Aaron Espinosa, Nick Salyer, Colt DuBroc, Matt Edwards, 11 Spencer 12 Singleton, Kahlil Randall, Ryan Drapela, Andre Booker, and Clay 13 Kresta; and

14 WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head 15 coach and athletic director Bob Gillis as well as assistant coaches 16 Wayne Condra, Alan Roberts, Kerry Brandl, James Harp, Matt Sohrt, 17 Dewayne Arkadie, Craig George, Elliott Babcock, Matt Sandoval, Mark 18 Woods, Russell Krenek, Matthew Schoener, William Brown, Jesse 19 Galvan, Kevin Gordon, Brady Peterson, and Hermann Mauch; and

20 WHEREAS, The team further benefited from the invaluable 21 support of superintendent Mark Pool, principal Rich Dubroc, 22 trainers Dean Easter and Cassey Janak, student trainers Savannah 23 Kemberling, Kaylee Martinez, Ashley Acuna, Britain Zalman, Sydney 24 Gonzalez, and Blayne Allgayer, and videographer Tyler Moreno; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating hard work, sportsmanship, and an unwavering commitment to excellence, the members of the El Campo High School football team have earned the admiration of their

2

1 fellow students and their many fans in the local community, and they
2 may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be
3 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the El Campo High School football team on its successful 2012 season and its appearance in the UIL 3A Division 1 state championship game and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

Stephenson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 399 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House