RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Katy High School football team capped an

2 undefeated 2012 season by winning the University Interscholastic

3 League 5A Division 2 state championship on December 22 at Cowboys

4 Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, With the victory, the Tigers continued their

6 tradition of gridiron superiority; the 2012 title is the seventh in

7 the program's history and the sixth since 1997, and it marked the

8 third time that head coach Gary Joseph had the pleasure of hoisting

9 the trophy; and

17

10 WHEREAS, Katy demonstrated exceptional determination in the

11 championship game; trailing Cedar Hill by three points and facing a

12 dramatic fourth-down situation with just under seven minutes to

13 play, the Tigers made the gutsy decision to go for the first down;

14 Adam Taylor broke free on the play and scored a 56-yard touchdown to

15 put Katy ahead; following a crucial interception by Quinn Atwood,

16 Mr. Taylor dashed into the end zone again from 42 yards out to

secure the 35-24 triumph; the senior running back was named the

18 offensive most valuable player after racking up 277 yards and five

19 touchdowns, and lineman Matt Dimon was named the defensive MVP; and

20 WHEREAS, All season long, the Tigers prevailed through a true

21 team effort, with important contributions made by each member of

22 the roster; the perseverance of these outstanding young athletes

23 enabled Katy to overcome injuries to key starters and still achieve

24 a perfect 16-0 record; and

H.R. No. 403

- 1 WHEREAS, An inspiring team with great talent and tremendous
- 2 heart, the 2012 Katy Tigers have furthered their school's proud
- 3 athletic heritage, and their accomplishment will be a fond memory
- 4 for the players and their supporters for many years to come; now,
- 5 therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate the Katy High School football team
- 8 on winning the UIL 5A Division 2 state championship and extend to
- 9 the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 10 continued success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Callegari Zerwas Bell

H.R. No. 403

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat

Zerwas

Nevarez

Gonzales

Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 403 was adopted by the House on M	larch

H.R. No. 403

26, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House