H.R. No. 405

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Continuing its tradition of athletic excellence, 2 the Throckmorton High School football team won the University 3 Interscholastic League 1A Six-Man Division 1 state championship on 4 December 15, 2012; and

5 WHEREAS, The Greyhounds recorded a commanding 72-30 victory 6 over Abbott High School in the title game, overwhelming their 7 opponent with a powerful offensive attack that rolled up 506 total 8 yards; the team's postseason march to the championship also 9 included dominating performances against Rotan and Water Valley, a 10 comfortable 30-point win over Rankin, and a hard-fought triumph in 11 its semifinal showdown with Turkey Valley; and

WHEREAS, In capturing the 2012 crown, Throckmorton continued an impressive run of gridiron success that has spanned three seasons; during that period, the Greyhounds have compiled 41 wins against just 2 losses, and they have played in three state championship games, winning two of them; and

WHEREAS, Following in the tradition of previous Throckmorton 17 teams, the 2012 Greyhounds excelled as a result of the 18 determination demonstrated by each of its players: Bryson Oliver, 19 20 Levi Taylor, Keith Balthrop, Noah Batts, Luke Hale, Noah Narvarro, 21 Parker Boyd, Newt Koemel, Coltan Gage, Adam Hernandez, Ben Hernandez, J. T. Bundy, C. J. Rankin, Hayden Farquhar, Adrian 22 23 Navarro, Taylor Stapp, Casey Mitchell, Lanham Brown, Hector Ibarra, Nathan Riley, Trinity Haggard, Rawlin Morrell, Max Haselhorst, 24

1

H.R. No. 405

1 Tyler Fulton, Tres Leal, and Gary Farquhar; and

2 WHEREAS, The team benefited from the expertise and 3 inspirational leadership of head coach Mike Reed and assistant 4 coaches Blayne Davis and Jason Blankenship; additional assistance 5 was provided by managers Aaron Hernandez, Luke Batts, Samantha 6 Anthony, Chase Cook, Bobby Bundy, Will McCartney, and Seth Hale; 7 and

8 WHEREAS, By accomplishing their championship goal, the 9 hardworking young athletes of the Greyhound football team have 10 become a source of great pride to their community, and their 11 achievement will be remembered and celebrated for years to come; 12 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Throckmorton High School football team on winning the 2012 UIL 1A Six-Man Division 1 state championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

Springer

2

H.R. No. 405

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 405 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House