RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The city of Lufkin lost one of its most admired 2 residents with the passing of Raymond Moore on October 10, 2012, at 3 the age of 73; and

WHEREAS, A Lufkin native, Mr. Moore was born on February 14, 1939, to Lloyd and Virginia Moore; he earned a degree in civil engineering from Texas Tech University, and while in college, he married the former Jan Norris; the couple subsequently settled in Mr. Moore's hometown, where he went to work for his family's business, Moore Brothers Construction Company; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan became a leader 10 in his 11 profession, serving as president of the board of directors of the 12 Texas Hot Mix Asphalt Pavement Association and as a valued member of the Highway, Heavy, Utilities and Industrial Branch of the 13 14 Associated General Contractors of Texas; along the way, he pursued a part-time career in Angus cattle breeding, and he benefited the 15 16 industry in his roles as president of the East Texas Angus Association from 1982 to 1985 and as president of the Texas Angus 17 Association later that decade; Mr. Moore was inducted into the 18 Texas Angus Association Hall of Fame in 2006, and after retiring the 19 following year as executive vice president of Moore Brothers, he 20 21 turned his focus to breeding Angus cattle full-time; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Moore further distinguished himself through his community involvement; he was the longtime chair of Angelina Savings Bank, which he helped found, and he was instrumental in the

1

1 creation of the Angelina County Exposition Center and took pleasure 2 in supporting its youth fair; in addition, he was among the local 3 leaders who formed the Lufkin Roundtable, an organization that 4 promotes the city and funds annual scholarships for graduating 5 seniors in Angelina County; he was the recipient of the Angelina 6 Award in 1992 for his achievements in behalf of the county; and

7 WHEREAS, Preceded in death by his first wife, Mr. Moore was 8 fortunate to find love again with Carol Anderson, and the couple 9 shared a rewarding marriage together; Mr. Moore was also the proud 10 father of three sons, Alan, David, and Brian; and

11 WHEREAS, Raymond Moore contributed to the lives of his fellow 12 citizens in myriad ways, and he leaves behind a legacy that will 13 forever be treasured by all those who were privileged to know him; 14 now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Raymond Moore and 16 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 17 Carol Moore; to his sons, Alan Moore and his wife, Kathey, David 18 19 Moore and his wife, Kelley, and Brian Moore; to his stepsons, Doug 20 McKelvey and his wife, Kathy, and Brad McKelvey and his wife, Jana; to his grandchildren, Kimberly Graham and her husband, Aaron, Maci 21 22 Jan Moore, Ben Beaty, and Abigail Irene Moore; to his step-grandchildren, Lauren, Kyle, Brandon, Brock, Penn, 23 and Scarlet McKelvey; to his brother, Jerry Moore, and his wife, Carol; 24 and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further 25

2

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Raymond 4 Moore.

Ashby

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 418 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 28, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House