## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Dr. James M. Simmons, who retired on January 31, 2013, as 3 president of Lamar University after 42 years of exceptional 4 service; and

5 WHEREAS, Dr. Simmons began his career at Lamar University in 6 1970 as a member of the music faculty; he held numerous positions of 7 importance with the university before his 1999 appointment as 8 president, including director of bands, music department chair, and 9 dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communication; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the university has nearly doubled its enrollment and has launched an impressive capital campaign that has raised more than \$100 million; numerous campus buildings have undergone renovation, and he played an important role in making the university a leader in the field of online education; and

16 WHEREAS, Dr. Simmons was instrumental in the return of 17 football to the university after a 21-year absence and in the 18 addition of women's soccer and softball; with the return of 19 football came the renewal of the marching band, which under his 20 direction in the 1970s was known as the Grandest Band in the Land; 21 and

WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, he is respected and admired by colleagues, faculty, and students alike, and his presence as president of Lamar University will be greatly

1

1 missed; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby commend Dr. James M. Simmons on his outstanding 4 stewardship of Lamar University and extend to him best wishes for 5 continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Dr. Simmons as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Ritter

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 419 was adopted by the House on February 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House