H.R. No. 437

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, David Chavana, cofounder and former director of the
Edinburg All-America City 10K Run/Walk, has inspired countless
South Texas residents to maintain a healthy lifestyle; and

WHEREAS, A native of Edinburg, Mr. Chavana has participated in more than 400 races since he first began running in 1976; to share this passion with others and to highlight the importance of exercise, he teamed with city staff in the early 1980s to begin planning a local 10K event; and

9 WHEREAS, Nearly 250 people took part in the first incarnation 10 of the Edinburg All-America City 10K Run, held in 1983; five years 11 later, the 10K Corporation of the City of Edinburg was established, 12 and today the race and its companion two mile "fun run" draw more 13 than 6,000 participants from around the world; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Chavana retired as director of the event in 2012, but he continues to play a positive role in the area through his work as an educator at Edinburg North High School; in all of his endeavors, he enjoys the support of a loving family that includes his wife, Graciela Moreno-Chavana, his sons, Vito and Noah, and his grandson, Trey; and

20 WHEREAS, Through his dedication to encouraging wellness, 21 David Chavana has made a positive contribution to his community, 22 and his influence will continue to be appreciated for many years to 23 come; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby honor David Chavana for his efforts to promote 2 health and fitness among his fellow Edinburg residents and extend 3 to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Mr. Chavana as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Canales

H.R. No. 437

H.R. No. 437

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 437

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 437 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House