H.R. No. 439

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State is known around the globe for its 2 world-class entertainers, and legendary Tejano musician Roberto 3 Pulido has been thrilling audiences for 40 years with his 4 distinctive and heartfelt music; and

5 WHEREAS, Born into a family of migrant farmworkers on March 1, 1950, in Edinburg, Roberto Pulido learned to play music from his 6 7 father and uncle; he took up the saxophone in the eighth grade, and his nimble playing earned him paying jobs and, later, a scholarship 8 9 to Pan American University; after graduating with a music degree, 10 he taught high school while working club dates on the weekends, and during this period he became the lead vocalist for the band Cecilio 11 12 Garza y Los Kasinos; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pulido left teaching in 1973 to devote himself full-time to music, and one year later he formed the band he is still fronting, Los Clasicos; he and the group quickly scored a hit with "Copa Tres Copa," and they have continued to distinguish themselves as one of Tejano music's most popular and enduring acts; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pulido, 19 Through the years, who is affectionately known as "El Primo," has won legions of followers 20 21 with his innovative fusion of traditional orquesta music with accordion-based conjunto sounds; his artistry has been recognized 22 23 with numerous honors from the Tejano Music Awards, including Male Vocalist of the Year, Single of the Year, and Male Entertainer of 24

1

1 the Year; in addition, he has received a formal tribute from the 2 Texas Jaycees, and in 1999 he was inducted into the Tejano Music 3 Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pulido is also a mentor to aspiring music students and has established the Roberto Pulido Music Scholarship Endowment at his college alma mater and at The University of Texas at Brownsville; and

8 WHEREAS, Over the course of his long and successful career, 9 Roberto Pulido has brought enjoyment to countless music fans while 10 inspiring a host of other Tejano singers, and this talented and 11 innovative performer is indeed deserving of recognition; now, 12 therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 14 Legislature hereby honor Roberto Pulido for his noteworthy 15 accomplishments in the music industry and extend to him sincere 16 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Mr. Pulido as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

Canales

H.R. No. 439

2

H.R. No. 439

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 439

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 439 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House