RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, one 2 of the nation's oldest law enforcement organizations, are gathering in Austin on February 19, 2013, to participate in Sheriffs' 3 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff 6 conserve peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; 7 moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail 8 9 bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts, and in some smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and 10 11 WHEREAS, The first meeting of the Sheriffs' Association of 12 Texas took place on August 14, 1874; association members adopted their preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one another in the 13 14 execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their 15 16 respective counties and throughout the state; the group has continued to follow the dictates of this mission to this day; and 17 WHEREAS, The office of sheriff is one of the oldest forms of 18 law enforcement; sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected 19 20 to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs' 21 Association of Texas; in addition, more than 2,700 individuals are active members of the group, and over 40,000 individuals are 22 23 associate members; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

24

H.R. No. 458

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2013, as Sheriffs'
- 2 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol and commend the members of
- 3 the Sheriffs' Association of Texas for their many contributions to
- 4 our state; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 458

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 458
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 458 was 19, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House