H.R. No. 461

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Independent Insurance Agents of San Antonio is
- 2 celebrating its 100th anniversary with a centennial reception on
- 3 February 28, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Since its establishment in 1913, IIASA has grown
- 5 from its eight founding agents to include over 170 members; the
- 6 association's mission, "to promote the strength and the value of
- 7 the local independent insurance agent," is exemplified by its
- 8 commitment to providing its members with the necessary tools to run
- 9 a successful practice; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In accordance with its educational goals, IIASA
- 11 offers continuing education courses, as well as the Myron F. Steves
- 12 Insurance Professional Scholarship Program, which covers tuition
- 13 costs for courses administered by the Insurance Institute of
- 14 America; and
- WHEREAS, The association also is a valuable contributor to
- 16 its community; each October, it sponsors a Fire Prevention Week
- 17 poster contest for local schools, and it further promotes fire
- 18 safety awareness by leading an ongoing smoke alarm drive;
- 19 additionally, it supplies funding for the San Antonio Fire
- 20 Department's Burn an Arsonist for Cold Cash program, which provides
- 21 resources to locate and prosecute criminals guilty of arson; and
- 22 WHEREAS, With its commitment to its members and the
- 23 community, the Independent Insurance Agents of San Antonio has
- 24 proven itself a valuable local resource, and the organization's

H.R. No. 461

- 1 notable history and ongoing achievements are indeed worthy of
- 2 commendation; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the
- 5 Independent Insurance Agents of San Antonio and extend to IIASA
- 6 members sincere best wishes for an enjoyable centennial
- 7 celebration; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Larson

## H.R. No. 461

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 461
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 461 was 19, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House