## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Aransas County are gathering in
Austin to celebrate Aransas County Day at the State Capitol on
February 21, 2013; and

WHEREAS, This region of thousand-year-old oaks, coastal prairie, and sandy beaches was first inhabited by native peoples 8,000 years ago; and

7 WHEREAS, In 1828, the Mexican government awarded an 8 empresario grant to bring in settlers from Ireland and Mexico, and 9 not long after the Civil War, the towns of Fulton and Rockport were 10 founded as ports for the cattle business; Aransas County was formed 11 in 1871 and named after a Spanish palace; and

12 WHEREAS, Aransas County is the gateway to the 116,000-acre 13 Aransas National Wildlife Refuge, where the amazing whooping cranes 14 spend the winter, and Goose Island State Park, which has over 15 200,000 visitors annually; and

16 WHEREAS, Rockport and Fulton Harbors are the home ports of 17 many popular boating excursions for birders, dolphin watchers, and 18 devotees of deep-sea and bay fishing, while the beautifully lit 19 Fulton Harbor Pier and 8,690-foot-long Copano Bay Pier offer 20 first-rate opportunities for angling; and

21 WHEREAS, The county's history is evoked by the 19th century 22 Fulton Mansion and the 1870s Victorian-style Aransas County History 23 Center, while the official Texas Maritime Museum in Rockport 24 celebrates the marine heritage of the Lone Star State; the Rockport

1

Center for the Arts is a hub for the region's thriving cultural
scene, which includes such festive annual events as the Bountiful
Bowl Pottery Fair, the Fulton Oysterfest, the Rockport Film
Festival, the HummerBird Festival, LaMardi Gras, the 4th of July
Art Show, and the annual Rockport Festival of Wines; and

6 WHEREAS, Blessed with more magnificent bays than land, more 7 redfish and trout than cars, and a chamber of commerce with a 8 five-star rating, Aransas County is one of the treasures of the Lone 9 Star State, and its citizens may indeed take great pride in their 10 heritage and look forward to a future filled with opportunity and 11 good times; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2013, as Aransas County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a memorable and meaningful visit to Austin.

> Morrison Hunter Herrero Lozano

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 463 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House