## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mariachi Los Lobos and Grupo Folklorico Ozomatli,
- 2 two groups from Palmview High School in Mission, were chosen to
- 3 perform in the 57th Inaugural Parade in honor of President Barack
- 4 Obama on January 21, 2013, in Washington, D.C.; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This prestigious honor allowed the students to
- 6 represent the Rio Grande Valley and the State of Texas in a
- 7 prominent national showcase, while helping to focus attention on
- 8 the country's Hispanic heritage, and it marked yet another notable
- 9 achievement for these respected ensembles; and
- WHEREAS, Since their inception in 2008, Mariachi Los Lobos
- 11 and Grupo Folklorico Ozomatli have worked to preserve the Latino
- 12 traditions and culture of the local community; the groups have
- 13 flourished in their first four years, earning wide recognition and
- 14 sparking new enthusiasm for music and dance among students in the La
- 15 Joya Independent School District; and
- WHEREAS, Mariachi Los Lobos, under the direction of music
- 17 director Mayra Garcia, has earned great acclaim for its
- 18 accomplished and inspiring performances; many students in the group
- 19 have placed in top chairs at the All-Valley Region 15 Mariachi
- 20 competition, and its vocalists have made the finals every year at
- 21 the Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza National Vocal Competition; in
- 22 2011, Mariachi Los Lobos was named the best 5A High School Mariachi
- 23 in the state, and in 2012 it claimed runner-up honors; in addition,
- 24 the group has won awards in various local competitions, such as The

H.R. No. 475

- 1 University of Texas-Pan American Festival of International Books
- 2 and Arts, and it was honored at the Texas State Capitol in 2011; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Grupo Folklorico Ozomatli, which is guided by music
- 4 director Rolando Rodriguez, has performed in numerous concerts and
- 5 folkloric festivals around the country; the group is renowned for
- 6 its talented dancers, many of whom have gone on to receive college
- 7 scholarships, including awards from the National Endowment for the
- 8 Arts, and to join professional dance companies; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Every year, Mariachi Los Lobos and Grupo Folklorico
- 10 Ozomatli work together to present two concerts that regularly draw
- 11 sell-out crowds of more than 3,000 people per show; these events
- 12 reflect the widespread popularity of these dedicated student
- 13 entertainers, whose artistry has become an integral part of the
- 14 rich cultural offerings in the Rio Grande Valley; now, therefore,
- 15 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Mariachi Los Lobos and Grupo
- 18 Folklorico Ozomatli on their selection as performers in the 57th
- 19 Presidential Inaugural Parade and extend to them sincere best
- 20 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the groups as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Longoria

## H.R. No. 475

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland		
	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	· - ·	> - · · · · ·

	H.R. No. 475
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 475 was 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House