RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A distinguished group from St. Mary's University is 2 gathering at the State Capitol on February 19, 2013, and their visit offers a welcome opportunity to honor this respected Catholic 3 liberal arts institution; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The oldest university in San Antonio and the oldest Catholic university in Texas, St. Mary's was established by 6 Marianist brothers and priests in 1852; its 135-acre campus 7 northwest of downtown is home to a diverse student body with a 8 current enrollment of approximately 4,000, and a 13 9 student-to-faculty ratio fosters a close-knit and supportive 10

11 academic community; and 12 WHEREAS, St. Mary's has built a national reputation for the

13

14

17

quality of its programs and for fostering a spirit of civic

engagement; it is the alma mater of more than 300 elected officials,

15 who have served both our state and our nation with distinction; and

WHEREAS, More than 70 percent of the school's students

participate in community service activities, and the institution

18 has earned a number of honors for this notable achievement; the

19 Carnegie Foundation granted St. Mary's University its prestigious

20 Community Engagement Classification in recognition of the school's

21 mission-driven focus on academic rigor, community service, and

22 civic participation; in addition, the university was named to

23 President Obama's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll

24 with Distinction, while Washington Monthly magazine rated St.

H.R. No. 492

- 1 Mary's first in the nation for promoting an ethic of service to
- 2 country, fostering scientific and humanistic research, and
- 3 performing as an engine of social mobility; moreover, the John
- 4 Templeton Foundation lists it as a College that Builds Character,
- 5 and the Princeton Review and Campus Compact named it one of the
- 6 nation's top Colleges with a Conscience; and
- WHEREAS, St. Mary's has also been recognized by The Education
- 8 Trust as one of the nation's best universities for graduating
- 9 Hispanic students at the same rate as other students; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In addition to its outstanding academic programs,
- 11 the school takes pride in its athletic record; it has won six
- 12 national titles in basketball, baseball, softball, and golf and is
- 13 home to 167 All-American Scholar athletes; and
- 14 WHEREAS, With Thomas M. Mengler, J.D., as its newly
- 15 inaugurated president, St. Mary's University continues to build on
- 16 its rich tradition of academic excellence while encouraging
- 17 leadership and service to the greater community; now, therefore, be
- 18 it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby welcome the visiting members of the St. Mary's
- 21 University community to the State Capitol and honor the school for
- 22 its exceptional contributions to higher education.

Rodriguez of Bexar

H.R. No. 492

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Sheffield of Bell Cortez Klick Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat

Zerwas

Nevarez

Gonzales

	H.R. No. 492
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 492 was	adopted by the House on February
19, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House