H.R. No. 493

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished members of the Baylor University
- 2 community are gathering at the State Capitol on February 27, 2013,
- 3 to celebrate the school's many achievements and contributions to
- 4 the Lone Star State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through
- 6 the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor University is the oldest
- 7 continuously operating university in the state; originally located
- 8 in Independence, it was later moved to Waco, where the campus
- 9 currently encompasses 1,000 acres near the picturesque banks of the
- 10 Brazos River; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Throughout its 168-year history, Baylor has adapted
- 12 to meet the ever-changing needs of those it serves, while
- 13 continuing to honor its heritage as a Christian university; and
- 14 WHEREAS, This nationally ranked institution offers 147 areas
- 15 of study, preprofessional tracks, and specialized academic
- 16 opportunities for a diverse student body of more than 15,000; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Baylor University has earned an international
- 18 reputation for educational excellence; the school's outstanding
- 19 alumni include CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, religious leaders,
- 20 Olympic athletes, and representatives in the state and federal
- 21 government; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Baylor University has provided generations of
- 23 students with an exceptional education and a strong, principled
- 24 foundation, and in doing so, "Baylor Nation" has contributed

H.R. No. 493

- 1 immeasurably to the history and the future of the Lone Star State;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2013, as Baylor Day at
- 5 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to all those from the
- 6 university who are visiting here today.

Patrick
Phillips
Leach
J. Davis of Harris
S. Davis of Harris
Anderson
Sanford

H.R. No. 493

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 493
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 493 was 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House