RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Apartment Association marks a notable
- 2 milestone in 2013 with the celebration of its 50-year anniversary;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, The association traces its origins to 1963, when
- 5 individuals from Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, and Austin saw a
- 6 need to bring rental housing owners together to discuss issues of
- 7 importance, advocate for fair legislation, and promote
- 8 professionalism within the industry; and
- 9 WHEREAS, TAA represents 10,700 individuals, who have
- 10 responsibility for nearly two million rental housing units across
- 11 the state and provide housing to more than four million Texans;
- 12 members hold property with a combined market value of more than \$150
- 13 billion and pay property taxes exceeding \$3 billion while employing
- 14 70,000 full-time employees; and
- WHEREAS, The standardized lease contract forms and other
- 16 operational forms that are available to TAA members have played a
- 17 pivotal role in promoting consistent, fair, legal, and predictable
- 18 standards of operation for rental properties of all types across
- 19 Texas; in 1996, TAA gave these lease forms to the National Apartment
- 20 Association as a template that could be adapted for use nationwide,
- 21 and 43 states currently participate in this lease program; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Supporting legislation that protects the interests
- 23 of both renters and property owners, TAA has advocated for security
- 24 deposit and security device legislation, habitability standards,

- 1 ownership disclosures, pool yard enclosures, and smoke detectors;
- 2 and
- 3 WHEREAS, The organization has also encouraged
- 4 professionalism in the rental housing industry, developing
- 5 professional certification programs for apartment managers (CAM),
- 6 maintenance staff (CAMT), property supervisors (CAPS), and leasing
- 7 professionals (NALP); initially developed by TAA volunteers, these
- 8 standards were ultimately adopted by the National Apartment
- 9 Association for use nationwide; in addition, TAA sponsors
- 10 educational seminars, webinars, and an annual education conference
- 11 to provide learning opportunities to members; local associations
- 12 supplement these efforts with many more educational offerings at
- 13 the regional level; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In 2001, the group formed the TAA Education
- 15 Foundation to endorse industry careers and to develop and support
- 16 the creation of undergraduate and graduate programs in the rental
- 17 housing arena; TAAEF also established a free "Renting 101" online
- 18 course for high school students and other first-time renters, used
- 19 in classrooms around the state, and thousands of students have
- 20 benefited from this resource; and
- 21 WHEREAS, TAA has a long track record of communicating with
- 22 members about issues that are important to rental housing
- 23 operators; publications include regular articles offering guidance
- 24 on legal issues that affect members; and
- 25 WHEREAS, The work of the Texas Apartment Association has
- 26 benefited many property owners and renters in the Lone Star State,
- 27 and the conclusion of its first illustrious half century provides a

- 1 fitting opportunity to recognize this worthwhile organization;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the Texas Apartment Association on the
- 5 50th anniversary of its founding and commend the group for its many
- 6 contributions to residents of this state; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Murphy

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 494
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 494 was 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House