H.R. No. 509

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The United Way system, which has partnered with
- 2 businesses around the nation to address community needs and promote
- 3 public awareness since 1887, is celebrating its 125th anniversary
- 4 in 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Charitable giving and volunteerism provide
- 6 incredible service to our state, and such activities are strongly
- 7 endorsed and encouraged by all members of the Texas House of
- 8 Representatives; and
- 9 WHEREAS, There are 88 local United Way organizations in
- 10 Texas, from all corners of the state; and
- 11 WHEREAS, United Ways assist with the specific needs and goals
- 12 of their respective communities, including United Way system-wide
- 13 goals of education, income, health, 2-1-1 information and referral,
- 14 and other topics; and
- WHEREAS, Collectively, United Way organizations mobilize
- 16 thousands of volunteers each year, strengthening the fiber of our
- 17 communities and engaging the caring power of those communities; and
- 18 WHEREAS, United Ways are responsible for garnering
- 19 charitable contributions that reinvest hundreds of millions of
- 20 dollars back into the local communities they serve, and this 125th
- 21 anniversary provides a fitting opportunity to honor all involved
- 22 with this venerable system; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2013, as United Way Day

H.R. No. 509

- 1 at the State Capitol and express gratitude to the United Way staff,
- 2 volunteers, donors, and supporters for their outstanding
- 3 contributions to the State of Texas and their tireless efforts to
- 4 make Texas communities stronger and more viable places to live.

Branch

## H.R. No. 509

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 509
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 509 was 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House