RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Lucy Collins Nazro retired as the head of 2 St. Andrew's Episcopal School in Austin in June 2012, drawing to a 3 close a notable career in education that spanned more than five 4 decades; and

5 WHEREAS, After receiving her bachelor's degree from The 6 University of Texas at Austin, Mrs. Nazro taught for several years 7 in California and Japan before enrolling at the Episcopal 8 Theological Seminary of the Southwest, where in 1966 she earned her 9 master's degree in religion and became that school's first woman 10 graduate; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Nazro was hired in 1980 to direct St. Andrew's, and over the course of her tenure, the school expanded to include middle and upper grades, graduating its first 12th-grade class in 2002; Mrs. Nazro's fund-raising efforts substantially increased the institution's capital and endowment funds, and she also played an instrumental role in planning and financing the Dell Fine Arts Center and a new chapel; and

18 WHEREAS, Under her dynamic leadership, the student body has significantly 19 become more racially, ethnically, and socioeconomically diverse; in addition, over \$2 million 20 in 21 financial aid is conferred each year; moreover, Mrs. Nazro established an award-winning community service program in which 22 23 students donate thousands of volunteer hours to a wide variety of local and national humanitarian and philanthropic organizations; 24

1

1 and

2 WHEREAS, This esteemed professional has benefited education 3 at the state and national levels through her involvement in the 4 Texas Association of Non-Public Schools, the Independent Schools 5 Association of the Southwest, and the National Association of 6 Episcopal Schools; and

WHEREAS, Admired and respected by her peers, Mrs. Nazro has 7 been recognized with a number of honors, including Columbia 8 University's Outstanding Head of School, the John Phillip Immroth 9 10 Memorial Award from the American Library Association, the Texas Library Association's Intellectual Freedom Award, the National 11 Distinguished Principals' Award, an honorary doctoral degree from 12 the Episcopal Theological Seminary of the Southwest, and an 13 14 honorary degree of humane letters from the Berkeley Divinity School 15 at Yale University; and

16 WHEREAS, Through all of her endeavors, Mrs. Nazro has enjoyed 17 the love and support of her husband, the Reverend Arthur Nazro, Jr., 18 and her four children and four grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Lucy Nazro demonstrated extraordinary dedication to educational excellence throughout her 32 years at St. Andrew's Episcopal School, and she leaves behind a legacy that will continue to benefit the school in the years to come; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Lucy Collins Nazro on her 25 retirement as the head of St. Andrew's Episcopal School and extend 26 to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

- 1 prepared for Mrs. Nazro as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Naishtat Eiland

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 517 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House