RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 21, 2013, proud citizens of two historic 2 West Texas counties are gathering in Austin to celebrate Ward and Winkler Counties Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, The territory of Ward County was originally home to 4 5 the Apache and Comanche Indians, and in 1881, the Texas and Pacific Railway built a line through the region, with stations at Barstow 6 7 and Monahans; the county was created out of part of Tom Green County in 1887 and named for Thomas "Peg Leg" Ward, a soldier in the Texas 8

and farming in its early years, the county was transformed by the 10 11

discovery of oil and gas in the 1920s; during World War II, it was

Revolution who lost his leg to a cannonball; a center for ranching

12 the site of Pyote Army Air Field, and in 1957, the Monahans

Sandhills State Historic Park was created in the county's northeast 13

14 corner; and

9

WHEREAS, Monahans, the county seat, was founded in 1880 by an 15 16 Irishman named John Thomas Monahan, an employee of the Texas and Pacific who found water at the site, and it was incorporated in 17 1928; situated at the hub of the Permian Basin, the town boasts a 18 welcoming business environment facilitated by easy access to two 19 20 railroads and two interstate highways; today, the area is stronger 21 and busier than ever, with a sharp increase in oil drilling and a strong commitment by city and county officials to upgrade the 22 23 county's infrastructure and accommodate the growing need for housing, industry, and retail; and 24

1 WHEREAS, The Anasazi were the earliest known people in the Winkler County area; in the 1880s, cattlemen established large 2 3 ranches on free state land; Winkler County was carved out of Tom Green County and named after Clinton W. Winkler, a state legislator 4 and judge; in 1910, the county was officially organized and the town 5 of Kermit, named after Theodore Roosevelt's son, was chosen as 6 county seat; the oil boom of the 1920s brought so many new people 7 8 that residents lived in tents and makeshift shelters, and another town, Winkler, sprang up; when the postal authorities advised that 9 10 there was another town with that name, it was swiftly shortened to Wink; and 11 WHEREAS, During the early boom years, Wink acquired a wild and freewheeling reputation; now, although its economy is still

12 13 14 based on the petroleum industry and ranching, it is better known as 15 the hometown of music legend Roy Orbison; his first band, the Wink Westerners, made its radio debut on Kermit station KERB, and the Roy 16 Orbison Museum is today one of the town's most interesting 17 attractions; Kermit gained celebrity luster more recently when the 18 19 Disney Company threw a 50th birthday party for Kermit the Frog, and the town made national headlines as it celebrated in style, 20 renaming a street in honor of the Muppet and repainting the water 21 tower with his likeness; and 22

WHEREAS, These two storied counties hold a notable place in 23 24 frontier history, and through the years, their towns demonstrated a unique High Plains flair; the residents of both 25 26 counties can indeed take great pride in their colorful past as they look forward to a bright future; now, therefore, be it 27

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2013, as Ward and Winkler
- 3 Counties Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 4 delegations sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable
- 5 visit to Austin.

Lewis

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
	Keffer	
Capriglione		Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland		
	Marquez	Thompson of Harris Toth
Elkins	Martinez	
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 520
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 520 was 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House