RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The State of Texas lost a widely known newspaperman, 2 former state legislator, and strong advocate of social justice with the death of Robert C. Barton, Jr., of Kyle on January 19, 2013, at 3 the age of 82; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The son of Robert C. Barton and Marietta Fly Barton, Bob Barton was born on April 5, 1930, in Austin and raised in Buda; 6 7 answering his nation's call to duty, he served in the United States Army during the Korean War and was stationed in Germany; after 8

although he went on to other pursuits, he remained an avid supporter 10

returning, he earned a teaching degree from Texas State University;

11 education throughout his life and helped form the Hays

12 Consolidated Independent School District; and

9

24

13 WHEREAS, In 1952, Mr. Barton and close friend Moe Johnson 14 purchased the Kyle News, which eventually developed into the countywide award-winning paper Hays County Citizen; he sold the 15 16 Citizen in 1978 and established the publication now known as the Hays Free Press, which has also won regional and statewide 17 accolades; throughout his years in the newspaper business, 18 Mr. Barton mentored many journalists and was a strong defender of 19 20 free speech, while encouraging respect and civility; and

21 WHEREAS, Mr. Barton backed the struggle of African Americans, Hispanics, and women to gain full participation in the political 22 23 process, and he was among those who worked to promote equal treatment for Hispanics in the San Marcos school system in the 1960s

H.R. No. 525

- 1 and 1970s; he was a lifelong Democrat, and the bookstore he opened
- 2 with his wife in San Marcos, the Colloquium, was often a hub of
- 3 political activity; he served one term in the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives after he was elected to represent Blanco, Hays, and
- 5 Llano Counties and part of Travis County in 1982; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Barton loved to delve into the history of
- 7 Central Texas and, in 1998, produced a history of Hays County in
- 8 periodical form; moreover, he devoted the last several years of his
- 9 life to historical research and continued to write occasional
- 10 articles for the Hays Free Press; and
- 11 WHEREAS, A stalwart advocate of civil rights and a man of deep
- 12 convictions, Bob Barton will be deeply missed, but his vision,
- 13 idealism, and kindness will forever inspire all who had the good
- 14 fortune to know him; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Robert C. Barton, Jr.,
- 17 and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his
- 18 wife, Wynette; to his sons, Jefferson Word Barton and his wife,
- 19 Cyndy, and David Gilbreath Slaughter Barton and his wife, Jolana;
- 20 and to his grandchildren, Zachary Alexander, Mary Rose Bozena,
- 21 Katrina Wynette, and Jakub Sterling Adam; and to his other
- 22 relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 25 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bob
- 26 Barton.

Isaac

H.R. No. 525

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

H.R. No. 525

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 525 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 14, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House