RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Paul Quinn College community are
- 2 joining together on February 28, 2013, to honor Bishop Vashti
- 3 Murphy McKenzie on her recent appointments as chair of the school's
- 4 board of trustees and as bishop of the 10th Episcopal District of
- 5 the African Methodist Episcopal Church; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Vashti McKenzie became the first woman to be
- 7 elevated to the episcopate in the more than 200-year history of the
- 8 AME Church when she was elected and consecrated as bishop in 2000;
- 9 she has further benefited her community of faith as president of the
- 10 Council of Bishops, chair of the General Conference Commission, and
- 11 host bishop of the 49th Quadrennial Session of the General
- 12 Conference, which drew more than 30,000 participants; and
- WHEREAS, Widely admired for her dynamic leadership and her
- 14 deep commitment to community service, Bishop McKenzie was one of
- 15 the first individuals named by President Barack Obama to the
- 16 advisory council of the White House Office of Faith-Based and
- 17 Neighborhood Partnerships; she has also served on the board of
- 18 trustees of Payne Theological Seminary in Dayton, Ohio, and the
- 19 Interdenominational Theological Center in Atlanta, Georgia; in
- 20 addition, she is a successful author, with four published works to
- 21 her credit; and
- 22 WHEREAS, This esteemed clergywoman has provided years of
- 23 valued inspiration and guidance to members of the AME Church while
- 24 also contributing to the betterment of her community, and it is

H.R. No. 542

- 1 indeed a privilege to welcome her to the Lone Star State; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Bishop Vashti McKenzie on her
- 5 appointments as bishop of the 10th Episcopal District of the
- 6 African Methodist Episcopal Church and as chair of the Paul Quinn
- 7 College Board of Trustees and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 8 continued success; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Bishop McKenzie as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose

H.R. No. 542

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 542
	Speaker of the House
-	adopted by the House on February
21, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House