H.R. No. 546

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud members of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority are
- 2 gathering in Austin on February 25, 2013, to celebrate Alpha Kappa
- 3 Alpha Day at the State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African
- 5 American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and
- 6 service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University
- 7 undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; together,
- 8 these women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high
- 10 scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship
- 11 among college women, and to improve the social stature of women of
- 12 all ages; a member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha
- 13 Kappa Alpha serves people around the world through the efforts of
- 14 more than 260,000 members in over 950 chapters located in the United
- 15 States, the Caribbean, Canada, Germany, Korea, Japan, and Africa;
- 16 and
- WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha supports programs that focus on
- 18 areas such as developing leadership skills, encouraging healthy
- 19 lifestyles, preventing and managing asthma, and promoting
- 20 environmental stewardship; in addition, members work with a variety
- 21 of partner organizations to alleviate global poverty, promote
- 22 social justice, and empower women economically; and
- WHEREAS, Many members of Alpha Kappa Alpha have gone on to
- 24 careers in public service, including Texas State Representatives

H.R. No. 546

- 1 Dawnna Dukes, Dr. Alma Allen, and Senfronia Thompson, retired state
- 2 representative Wilhelmina Delco, and U.S. Congresswomen Sheila
- 3 Jackson Lee and Eddie Bernice Johnson; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of the sorority's 28th
- 5 international president, Carolyn House Stewart, Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 6 continues to address the issues of social justice, human rights,
- 7 health, poverty, economic security, and environmental
- 8 sustainability; the sorority's South Central Region is ably led by
- 9 its 24th regional director, Chelle M. Wilson of Cross Roads; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Wearing their official colors of salmon pink and
- 11 apple green, the members of Alpha Kappa Alpha are widely recognized
- 12 for their elegance, charm, intelligence, and quiet strength, and
- 13 the sorority continues to win renown for its service to Texas and
- 14 the nation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2013, as Alpha Kappa
- 17 Alpha Day at the State Capitol and extend to the sorority's visiting
- 18 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and meaningful
- 19 event.

Dukes Deshotel

H.R. No. 546

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 546
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 546 was 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House