By: Button

H.R. No. 562

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The math, science, and technology magnet program of
the Garland Independent School District has been named a 2012-2013
Apple Distinguished Program; and

WHEREAS, The Apple Distinguished Program designation is reserved for schools that are acknowledged centers of educational excellence and leadership; the Garland MST magnet track was one of only 103 programs across the nation and the only elementary school in Texas to earn this prestigious award; and

9 WHEREAS, Housed at the Beaver and Watson Technology Centers, the Garland MST curriculum emphasizes technology and hands-on, 10 project-based learning using iPads, iPods, and MacBooks; teachers 11 12 act as facilitators rather than lecturers, and students gain 13 experience in research and inquiry, communication and presentation, time management, and self-assessment; and 14

15 WHEREAS, Under the skilled guidance of principals Jason Adams 16 and Jenny Roberson, the MST campuses have also been rated both 17 Exemplary and Recognized by the Texas Education Agency, designated 18 National Title I Distinguished Schools, and selected for the honor 19 roll of the Texas Business and Education Coalition; and

20 WHEREAS, With its emphasis on technology, flexibility, and 21 self-direction, the Garland MST program is helping students develop 22 vital 21st-century skills, and its selection as an Apple 23 Distinguished Program is a fitting tribute to the district's 24 innovative approach to learning; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 562

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Garland Independent School 3 District math, science, and technology magnet program on being 4 named a 2012-2013 Apple Distinguished Program and extend to the 5 faculty and students at the Beaver and Watson Technology Centers 6 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the 9 Texas House of Representatives.