H.R. No. 563

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 join the citizens of Kinney County and Texans across the state in
- 3 celebrating Kinney County Day; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Located west of San Antonio in the Rio Grande Plains
- 5 region, Kinney County was formed by an Act of the Texas Legislature
- 6 in 1850 and is named for early settler and adventurer Henry Lawrence
- 7 Kinney; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The United States Army established Fort Riley, later
- 9 called Fort Clark, along Las Moras Creek in 1852, and the community
- 10 of Brackett, named for local merchant Oscar B. Brackett, was begun
- 11 that same year; now called Brackettville, it is the county's seat
- 12 and largest city; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, cattle ranching has dominated the
- 14 county's economy, with wool and mohair production playing an
- 15 important part in the nation's war effort during World War II;
- 16 tourists are drawn to the area by such attractions as Kickapoo
- 17 Cavern State Park, Alamo Village, Las Moras Park, and Fort Clark;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, The citizens of Kinney County are confidently facing
- 20 the future while continuing to embrace their rich and colorful
- 21 past; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives, 83rd
- 23 Legislature, hereby commend the people of Kinney County on their
- 24 many contributions to our state's growth and prosperity and extend

H.R. No. 563

- 1 to them best wishes for a memorable Kinney County Day; and, be it
- 2 further
- 3 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared in honor
- 4 of this special day.

Nevarez

H.R. No. 563

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 563
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 563 was 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House