H.R. No. 576

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A number of proud Texans are visiting Austin on
- 2 February 25, 2013, to celebrate Texas Southern University Day at
- 3 the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1927, with a loan from the Houston Public
- 5 School Board, Texas Southern University opened its doors as Houston
- 6 Colored Junior College; the school was highly successful and
- 7 enrollment grew quickly, leading to its transition to a four-year
- 8 institution in 1934, with a graduate program added in 1943; the
- 9 Texas Legislature appropriated \$2 million in 1947 to buy the campus
- 10 of what was then Houston College for Negroes in order to create a
- 11 new state-supported university, and four years later the school
- 12 assumed the name Texas Southern University; and
- WHEREAS, Today, Texas Southern is one of the largest of the
- 14 historically black colleges and universities in the United States;
- 15 located in Houston's Third Ward, it enrolls more than 9,500
- 16 students from throughout the country and around the world, and it
- 17 employs nearly 1,300 faculty and staff; it is composed of 10 schools
- 18 and colleges that offer 45 baccalaureate academic majors, as well
- 19 as 29 master's degree programs, 8 doctorate programs, and a
- 20 J.D. law program; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Texas Southern University is committed to serving
- 22 students of diverse cultural, religious, educational, and economic
- 23 backgrounds and to preparing them for future leadership roles; the
- 24 university trains the majority of African American lawyers in

H.R. No. 576

- 1 Houston and African American teachers in the Houston Independent
- 2 School District, and it has historically graduated more than 27
- 3 percent of the African American pharmacists in the United States;
- 4 in addition, the university's Thurgood Marshall School of Law has
- 5 been recognized by U.S. News & World Report as the most diverse law
- 6 school in the nation; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Texas Southern University
- 8 has provided its students with a solid foundation for achievement,
- 9 and it has been a powerful force for social progress and economic
- 10 development in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2013, as Texas Southern
- 13 University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those
- 14 associated with this notable institution sincere best wishes for
- 15 continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Texas Southern University as an expression of high
- 18 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Coleman

H.R. No. 576

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 5/6
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 576 was	adopted by the House on February
25, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House