RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Willie Fritz, the head football coach at Sam Houston 2 State University, has been chosen as the Liberty Mutual NCAA 3 Division I Football Championship Subdivision Coach of the Year for 4 2012, and this notable accolade follows a successful season in 5 which he led his team to its second consecutive Southland 6 Conference championship; and

7 WHEREAS, Sponsored by Liberty Mutual Insurance in partnership with the National Football Foundation and the College 8 Football Hall of Fame, the Coach of the Year accolade honors 9 sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility, and excellence both on 10 11 and off the field; the award provides Coach Fritz with \$20,000 to 12 donate to the SHSU Alumni Association and \$50,000 to donate to charity, and the coach has selected the Lone Survivor Foundation 13 14 and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes as the recipients of the funds; and 15

WHEREAS, Since taking the helm at SHSU in 2010, Willie Fritz 16 has established himself as one of the top coaches in the NCAA 17 Football Championship Subdivision; in both 2011 and 2012, the 18 Bearkats won the Southland Conference title and competed in the 19 20 national championship game; moreover, many SHSU players have 21 achieved All-Conference and All-American honors under the direction of Coach Fritz, and team members have been finalists for 22 23 the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan Awards; and

24 WHEREAS, Coach Fritz also places a strong emphasis on

1

1 academics, which has resulted in numerous Bearkats earning a place 2 on academic honor rolls; in addition, the coach, his staff, and 3 members of the squad play a positive role in the local community by 4 participating in food drives, by raising funds for the Ronald 5 McDonald House and wounded veterans, and by helping schoolchildren 6 develop their reading skills; and

7 WHEREAS, The expertise and commitment demonstrated by Coach 8 Fritz are further reflected in the numerous other awards he has 9 received; the American Football Coaches Association has twice 10 selected him as Regional Coach of the Year, and in 2011 he was voted 11 the association's National Coach of the Year and the Southland 12 Conference Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Before beginning his tenure at SHSU, Coach Fritz spent 13 years leading the football program at the University of Central Missouri, where he became the school's winningest coach; and

WHEREAS, With his latest accomplishments, Willie Fritz has advanced the outstanding reputation of Bearkat athletics, and his work is greatly appreciated by the university's supporters and by sports fans from throughout the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Willie Fritz on being named the Liberty Mutual NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision Coach of the Year for 2012 and commend him for guiding the Sam Houston State University football team to its second consecutive Southland Conference championship; and, be it further

2

H.R. No. 583 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for Coach Fritz as an expression of high regard by the 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Otto

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 583 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House