## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Concord Missionary Baptist Church in
- 2 Dallas are gathering on March 31, 2013, for the inaugural service at
- 3 their new sanctuary; and
- WHEREAS, Established on June 29, 1975, Concord Missionary
- 5 Baptist Church has long served members of the Oak Cliff community;
- 6 under the dynamic leadership of the Reverend E. K. Bailey, the
- 7 church began with 228 members and today welcomes thousands of
- 8 worshipers; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Concord was expanded to accommodate the growing
- 10 congregation and eventually moved from its original location on
- 11 South Polk Street to a much larger property near Boulder Park; the
- 12 new sanctuary will seat approximately 3,200; and
- WHEREAS, United by their shared faith and strong traditions,
- 14 members participate in a wide variety of ministries, educational
- 15 programs, and service opportunities; and
- WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, Concord Missionary Baptist
- 17 Church has served as a source of inspiration and guidance for
- 18 countless Dallas residents, and it is indeed a pleasure to join in
- 19 congratulating its members and clergy on this noteworthy occasion;
- 20 now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby commemorate the opening of Concord Missionary
- 23 Baptist Church's new sanctuary and extend to the members of the
- 24 congregation sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

 _	_	_	_	_	_	_	_		_		_		_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 591 was adopted by the House on March 11, 2013, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House