H.R. No. 594

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Demosthenes Sherman of Dallas has been chosen to
receive a 2013 Texas Legislative Black Caucus scholarship; and

3 WHEREAS, This notable young Texan, who will graduate this 4 spring and attend college in the fall, is being recognized for his 5 achievements at a special banquet in Austin on February 25, 2013; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, The Texas Legislative Black Caucus was established 8 in 1973 to address issues of concern to the state's African American 9 community; each biennium, the group awards scholarships to 10 exceptional high school students from across the state; and

11 WHEREAS, A truly deserving recipient, Mr. Sherman has 12 demonstrated determination and perseverance in the pursuit of his 13 goals, and he may indeed look forward to a future bright with 14 promise; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Demosthenes Sherman on his receipt 17 of a Texas Legislative Black Caucus scholarship and extend to him 18 sincere best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; 19 and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for Mr. Sherman as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

1

H.R. No. 594

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 594

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 594 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House