H.R. No. 598

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Kenneth Govan of Duncanville is receiving the 2013

Outstanding Texan Award for House District 111 from the Texas

3 Legislative Black Caucus on February 26, 2013; and

2

4 WHEREAS, Employed by the Oncor electric delivery company for

5 two decades, Kenneth Govan has served as area manager for customer

6 operations in southern Dallas and northern Ellis Counties for

7 nearly 10 years; he represents the company in the community and

8 works closely with elected officials, civic and professional

9 organizations, and other businesses; Mr. Govan previously served

10 the company in Northeast Tarrant County and was named to a "Who's

11 Who" of the region by the Dallas Morning News; and

12 WHEREAS, This public-spirited citizen has shared his time and

13 talents with a host of organizations; a graduate of Leadership

14 Dallas and Leadership Southwest, he served on the board of the

15 latter organization from 2005 to 2007; in 2010, he chaired the Best

16 Southwest partnership, which promotes the economic, legislative,

17 and educational well-being of southwest Dallas County and northern

18 Ellis County, and he is currently a member of the board of directors

19 of the Cedar Hill Economic Development Corporation; and

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Govan chaired the board of directors of the

21 DeSoto Chamber of Commerce, served on the executive committee of

22 the Cedar Hill chamber, and is set to chair the Lancaster area

23 chamber in 2014; he has contributed to the education foundations of

24 Cedar Hill, DeSoto, and Lancaster and was named the DeSoto

H.R. No. 598

- 1 Independent School District's Volunteer of the Year in 2007;
- 2 moreover, he helped to establish the region's Big Brothers Big
- 3 Sisters chapter and holds a seat on the steering committee of the
- 4 African American Leadership Society for the United Way of
- 5 Metropolitan Dallas; he received an award for his community service
- 6 from the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post No. 1406; and
- 7 WHEREAS, A Dallas native, Mr. Govan graduated from Jarvis
- 8 Christian College with a degree in accounting and earned a master's
- 9 degree in business administration from Dallas Baptist University in
- 10 1995; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Citizens benefit each day from the contributions of
- 12 those civic leaders who improve the quality of life in their
- 13 communities, and House District 111 is indeed fortunate to have
- 14 passionate and engaged residents like Kenneth Govan; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Kenneth Govan on his receipt of a
- 18 2013 Outstanding Texan Award from the Texas Legislative Black
- 19 Caucus and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 20 and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Govan as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 598

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado		Paddie
Anchia	Guerra	Parker
<u></u>	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Rose
Coleman		Sanford
	King of Taylor	Schaefer
Collier	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	zedler
Gonzales		
GOIIZATES	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 598
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 598 was 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House