RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family of U.S. Air Force Master Sergeant James

2 Calfee of Newgulf are gathered today in solemn remembrance of this

3 courageous Texan, who, with 11 of his comrades, gave his life for

4 his country on March 11, 1968, in the Vietnam War, and whose heroism

5 has been posthumously recognized with the Silver Star; and

6 WHEREAS, James Henry Calfee was born in Newgulf in 1932; in

7 November 1967, he was one of a select number of highly skilled

8 members of the 1st Combat Evaluation Group (CEVG) who were

9 assigned, under civilian cover, to staff a radar installation on a

10 mountaintop in Laos that was known as Lima Site 85; this top secret

11 facility enabled the air force to conduct all-weather bombing raids

12 on North Vietnam; and

WHEREAS, Although Master Sergeant Calfee was an expert in the

technology used at the site, he was originally not slated to go on

15 the mission because of a medical condition; he insisted so strongly

16 on participating, however, that his commanding officer gave him a

17 waiver; and

14

18 WHEREAS, The installation at Lima Site 85 soon came under

19 attack by the North Vietnamese Army, which advanced close enough to

20 launch ground assaults on the facility by late January 1968; though

21 the members of the CEVG group were technicians and not combat

22 troops, they defended themselves bravely; they had been supplied

23 with M-16 rifles after their arrival, and Master Sergeant Calfee

24 and Chief Master Sergeant Richard L. Etchberger, who had weapons

- 1 experience, trained the other men in the rifle's use; and
- WHEREAS, Early on the morning of March 11, 1968, NVA
- 3 commandos attacked the site, and during the desperate struggle,
- 4 Master Sergeant Calfee was gravely wounded; in spite of his
- 5 injuries, he continued to engage the enemy, and by doing so, he
- 6 enabled some of the other men to reach safety; in the end, 12 of the
- 7 Americans died and 4 escaped by helicopter; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In addition to Master Sergeant Calfee, those who
- 9 fell that day were Lieutenant Colonel Bill Blanton, Chief Master
- 10 Sergeant Etchberger, Technical Sergeants Willis Hall, Melvin
- 11 Holland, Patrick Shannon, Donald Springsteadah, and Herbert Kirk,
- 12 and Staff Sergeants Henry Gish, Don Worley, David Price, and James
- 13 Davis; while the remains of three of these men were returned to the
- 14 United States, Master Sergeant Calfee and eight others who died
- 15 were eventually listed as "killed in action/body not recovered";
- 16 those who perished at Lima Site 85 were each posthumously awarded
- 17 the Bronze Star with Valor, and in 2009, Chief Master Sergeant
- 18 Etchberger was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor; and
- 19 WHEREAS, When more details of this secret operation came to
- 20 light, Master Sergeant Calfee's medal was upgraded to the Silver
- 21 Star, which was presented to his family at Barksdale Air Force Base
- 22 in Louisiana on October 15, 2012; the sergeant's four sisters,
- 23 Rosalie Bacica, Frances Arrington, Carol Turner, and Verna Yeamans,
- 24 as well as his nieces, Debra Morris and Julia Barta, continue to
- 25 honor his memory and to tell the inspiring story of the men of Lima
- 26 Site 85; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Master Sergeant James
- 2 Calfee and commemorate his posthumous receipt of the Silver Star;
- and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family as an expression of deep appreciation for
- 6 his valiant service in the Vietnam War.

Stephenson

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miler of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White
Frank	Moody	Walle
Geren Giddings	Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Workman Wu
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 601
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 601 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on March 6, 2013.	
	Chief Clerk of the House