H.R. No. 613

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 welcome the registered nurses and licensed vocational nurses who 3 are visiting the State Capitol today, February 26, 2013, as part of 4 Nurse Day; and

5 WHEREAS, The 184,000 registered nurses and 80,000 licensed 6 vocational nurses caring for Texans every day in hospitals, in 7 nursing homes, through home health agencies, and in other settings 8 are critical to the quality of health care provided in our state; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, Nurses are consistently rated by the Gallup Poll as 11 among the highest-ranking professionals in honesty and ethical 12 standards; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Texas Nurses Association and the Licensed Vocational Nurses Association of Texas and other Texas nursing organizations represented at the Capitol today share a mission of advocacy for excellence in care for their patients both at the bedside and in the public arena; and

18 WHEREAS, Texas nurses deserve our respect, praise, and 19 admiration for their commitment to bringing the highest quality of 20 care to the citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2013, as Nurse Day at the State Capitol and commend all nurses for their invaluable service to this state.

1

H.R. No. 613

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 613

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 613 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House