H.R. No. 614

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Pearland are gathering in Austin 2 on February 27, 2013, to celebrate Pearland Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Located in Brazoria County, Pearland was originally 4 5 established as Mark Belt in 1893, but in November of that year, its name was changed to Pearland to reflect the large number of pear 6 7 trees in the area; by 1898, the town had a newspaper, 12 businesses, and 75 residents; however, its growth slowed considerably and many 8 9 of its fruit trees were destroyed when it was hit by the Galveston 10 hurricane in 1900; the planting of oranges and figs helped revive local agriculture, until the freeze of 1918 caused another wave of 11 12 damage; Pearland bounced back a second time, though, and in 1934, oil and gas were discovered in the area, prompting significant 13 growth in the decades that followed; and 14 WHEREAS, Today, while enjoying the benefits of its proximity 15 16 to Houston and such sites as the Johnson Space Center and Galveston Beach, Pearland maintains its own unique character; in 1999, it was 17 named an All-America City by the National Civic League, and its 18

WHEREAS, With a colorful history, an abundance of natural

hotel accommodations, and residential units; and

19

20

21

22

24 resources, and a small-town feel, Pearland is a desirable community

notable attractions include Cole's Antique Village and Flea Market,

which features more than 1,300 dealers from across the state, and

Pearland Town Center, a mixed-use development of retail outlets,

H.R. No. 614

- 1 in which to live, work, and raise a family, and its residents may
- 2 indeed take justifiable pride in the place they call home; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2013, as Pearland Day at
- 6 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 7 delegation that is present at the Capitol today.

Thompson of Brazoria

H.R. No. 614

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 614
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 614 was	adopted by the House on February
27, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House