## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ken Kramer retired as executive director of the Lone 2 Star Chapter of the Sierra Club on July 31, 2012, concluding a 3 notable career with that organization that spanned more than three 4 decades; and

WHEREAS, A native Texan, Mr. Kramer served his country as a 5 member of the U.S. Army before earning a doctoral degree in 6 7 political science from Rice University; he subsequently worked as a professor at San Angelo State University and Texas A&M University 8 and became involved with the Sierra Club's Lone Star Chapter along 9 the way; he served as the group's legislative chair and as a member 10 11 of the executive committee, and he ultimately left academia in 1982 12 to focus on environmental advocacy; he was the chapter's contract 13 lobbyist until 1989 when he was hired as its first director; and

14 WHEREAS, Under his skillful stewardship, the Lone Star Chapter became a model of organizational strength and effective 15 16 representation, serving as a staunch advocate for improved air quality and state parks and as an important resource regarding 17 state water policy; Mr. Kramer established a long and wide-ranging 18 list of noteworthy conservation achievements, including his 19 20 successful efforts to encourage the state to retain ownership of 21 the remote 20,000-acre Devils River State Natural Area; his 22 guidance also paved the way toward the reduced use of coal as a 23 power source and Texas' emergence as a national leader in renewable 24 energy production; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Mr. Kramer continues to contribute to the environmental cause as a member of the Water Conservation Advisory 2 Council, the Advisory Council for the Environmental 3 Science Institute at The University of Texas at Austin, and the board of the 4 5 Texas Water Foundation; his accomplishments further include serving as editor of The Living Waters of Texas, a volume of essays 6 and photographs about our state's water features; and 7

8 WHEREAS, Known for his insightful knowledge of policy, Ken 9 Kramer is admired by colleagues as a wise strategist who keeps his 10 humor in spite of the challenges; he has dedicated his career to 11 preserving the Lone Star State's natural resources and to working 12 for clean air, water, and land on behalf of its citizens, and his 13 efforts will continue to make a positive difference in the lives of 14 Texans for years to come; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Ken Kramer on his retirement as 17 executive director of the Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club and 18 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Mr. Kramer as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

Howard

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 620 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House