H.R. No. 626

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A number of proud West Texas citizens are gathering
- 2 in Austin on February 27, 2013, to celebrate Hudspeth County Day at
- 3 the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Created out of El Paso County in 1917, Hudspeth
- 5 County covers more than 4,500 square miles of the vast Chihuahuan
- 6 Desert, and residents enjoy the area's great natural beauty,
- 7 sweeping vistas, and friendly, close-knit communities; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Numerous archeological sites in the county attest to
- 9 the presence of farmers and hunter-gatherers in prehistoric times,
- 10 and missionaries and soldiers from northern New Spain traversed the
- 11 area as early as 1581; in 1849, John S. "Rip" Ford and Major Robert
- 12 S. Neighbors charted a trail that would be used by many adventurers
- 13 on their way to the California gold fields; Fort Quitman was
- 14 established in 1858 on the Rio Grande, in the southern part of the
- 15 present-day county, to protect travelers and mail coaches en route
- 16 between San Antonio and El Paso; and
- WHEREAS, In 1881, the country's second transcontinental
- 18 railroad was completed near what is now Sierra Blanca, and Jay Gould
- 19 drove in a silver spike to mark the occasion; the town of Sierra
- 20 Blanca quickly developed into a shipping point and commercial
- 21 center, and when the county was organized it became the county seat;
- 22 Dell City, in the north, and Fort Hancock, near the Rio Grande, are
- 23 the two other largest communities; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The economy of Hudspeth County has been based

H.R. No. 626

- 1 chiefly on ranching, farming, and mining, along with tourism and
- 2 hunting leases; a section of the Guadalupe Mountains National Park,
- 3 a destination for outdoors enthusiasts, is located within the
- 4 county, as is part of the Sierra Diablo Wildlife Management Area,
- 5 which is home to the largest population of free-ranging bighorn
- 6 sheep in Texas; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Popular annual events include the Dell Valley
- 8 Hudspeth County Fair and Wild West Chile Fest, held jointly in Dell
- 9 City, the Dell City Junior Livestock Show, Halloween Parade, and
- 10 July Fourth fireworks, and the Sierra Blanca livestock show and
- 11 Fourth of July Fair; points of interest in Sierra Blanca include the
- 12 old railroad depot, which now houses the Hudspeth County Museum,
- 13 and the courthouse, which is the only such structure in Texas that
- 14 is built of adobe; and
- WHEREAS, The citizens of Hudspeth County share a deep
- 16 appreciation for their beloved corner of the Lone Star State, and it
- 17 is a pleasure to recognize their achievements and their public
- 18 spirit; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2013, as Hudspeth County
- 21 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those who have come to
- 22 Austin sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Nevarez

## H.R. No. 626

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 626
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 626 was 27, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House