H.R. No. 638

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Jack and Jill of America are visiting the
- 2 State Capitol on March 12, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, In 1938, Marion Stubbs Thomas and a group of 20
- 4 like-minded Philadelphia mothers established Jack and Jill of
- 5 America in an effort to encourage social and cultural relationships
- 6 between their children; the idea soon spread to other cities, and in
- 7 1946 the group held its first national meeting; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This worthwhile organization has since expanded to
- 9 include 220 chapters throughout the country; today, Jack and Jill
- 10 continues to provide constructive educational, cultural, civic,
- 11 recreational, and social activities and programs for youth; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The future of the Lone Star State and the strength of
- 13 our communities nationwide depend, in great measure, on the younger
- 14 generations, and Jack and Jill of America is making a positive and
- 15 lasting contribution to the education and quality of life of its
- 16 participants; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize Jack and Jill of America and welcome
- 19 members of the organization to the State Capitol.

Miles

H.R. No. 638

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Tarker King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier		
	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

H.R.	No.	638

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 638 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House